TVET Activities/Events


On November 15th – 18th, 2016, the School of Technical Education, Yaba College of Technology held its 2nd International Conference with the theme: Global Economic Crisis and Implications for Educational Sector. The welcome address was delivered by Mrs H. A. Akanbi, Dean, School of Technical Education. The chief host Dr. (Mrs) M. K. Ladipo was represented by the Deputy Rector Academics, Dr. (Mrs) T. O. Oyelola.

The School of Technical Education (STE) which was originally known as Technical Teacher Training Programme (TTTP) was established by the Federal Government of Nigeria in 1993. Prior to this time, there had been a dearth of qualified Technical, Vocational and Science teachers in secondary schools in the country, and Technical Science teachers were sent overseas for training. Due to dwindling state of the nation’s economy, the Federal Government decided to use some universities and polytechnics within the country for training. As a result of this, Yaba College of Technology (the first higher education institution in Nigeria) was chosen and affiliated with University of Nigeria, Nsukka (the first indigenous university of Nigeria). At inception, it was the Federal Ministry of Education that selected candidates. Selected candidates were given full Federal Government scholarship for the three year duration. By 2003/2004 academic session, the college began to admit its own students (independent of the Ministry of Education) into the ten degree programmes – Art Education, Business Education, Biology Education, Computer Science Education, Chemistry Education, Home Economics Education, Industrial Technical Education, Integrated Science Education, Mathematics Education, and Physics Education. All courses are fully accredited by the National University Commission. In 2010, the College Management convinced by the success of the programme decided to upgrade it into a school with four distinct departments namely:

Applied Arts Education

Educational Foundations

Science Education

Vocational Education

The school is now headed by a Dean in a place of the Project Director. By 2012/2013 academic session, the College began to admit students into her 4-year Degree Programme. The school has had the privilege of being led by seasoned scholars and astute administrators like the pioneer Director, Dr. P. C. Ojechi (late), Engr. Ogini, Engr. A. O. Olabode, Mrs A. O. Adewumi, Dr. P. U. Akumabor, Dr E. A. Aromolaran (1st Dean of the school) and the current Dean, Mrs. H. A. Akanbi (1st elected Dean). Credit must be given to the College Management, particularly the amiable Rector, Dr. (Mrs.) M. K. Ladipo for her constant support and encouragement that the programme must succeed. To God be all the glory.    


YCT UNEVOC Centre About Us | News | Research | TVET Activities | Resources | Contact Us Youtube  Googleplus Twitter Facebook